We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

Hertfordshire Youth Parliament Election Results Announced

March 11, 2016 4:41 PM

hertsYthThe results of the Youth Parliament elections and top issues for Hertfordshire's young people were announced on Saturday 27th February 2016 by County Councillor Richard Roberts, Executive Member for Children's Services.

Supported by Youth Connexions, the 28 candidates set out their manifestos online and canvassed in schools, colleges and youth projects during December and January; voting took place in late January and early February.

Each elected Member of Youth Parliament (MYP) will represent one of the ten Hertfordshire districts until February 2017.

Pictured back row left to right: Tom (Broxbourne district), Maxwell (North Herts district), Nick (Dacorum district), Mason (Stevenage district). Front row left to right: Yasmin (St Albans district) Tess (East Herts district), Ellie (Three Rivers district), Django (Watford district) and Leon (in blue shirt) (Hertsmere district)

The top five priority issues were also voted for during the election. These will form the mandate for the newly elected MYPs who will consult with young people across the county to find out what they think of the services already offered and what improvements they would like to see. The results will then be collated and published in the Herts1125 Hertfordshire Young People's Manifesto 2016/17, which will be launched and presented to senior officers in Hertfordshire County Council in October 2016.

For more information about the work of Herts UKYP and Herts1125, visit the Voice of Young People area on the Youth Connexions website.